• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Back For A Short While


Seeing as I’ve been gone from here for the last few weeks, I imagine I owe everyone who has continued to visit here an explanation.

Short answer – my schedule got too full and something had to give.  Not the best answer I suppose but it is the truth.  I’ve had a lot going on at work lately that’s required a lot of my time and by the time I get home at night I just want to take it easy and hang out with my wife and daughter.  No offense to anyone reading this but they’ll always come first.

I’d like to think that things will slow down here over the summer but I get the sense that this won’t be the case.  A lot of initiatives going on at work and our second daughter will make her debut just eight short weeks from now.  My guess is that I’ll only be updating sporadically for the near future.  For that, I apologize.  I really wish I could be on here more frequently as I really enjoy the community of people but sometimes priorities and responsibilities spin you in a different direction.

With that being said, I did want to give you all an update on what’s been going on from a fitness and training perspective since I last jumped on and, fortunately, a lot of it is good news.

Races – The biggest update here is that I have registered for the Door County Half Marathon coming up on May 1st.  This really came out of nowhere in the last week.  I originally had no plans for running it again this year.  I wanted to make sure that the knee issues that gave me so much trouble when running it last year were fixed and were a thing of the past.  Also, the race date was about four weeks from my wife’s due date and I figured she wouldn’t want to travel almost three hours in a car one way when she was eight months pregnant.

Imagine my surprise when last weekend she told me she felt great and would love to make the trip up there again.  My knee hasn’t given me any issues over the last month or more so I figured what the heck!  And with that, I was registered to run the race again.  Last year, I finished in a disappointing 2:13:56.  This year, I’m aiming for a sub 2:00 time.

The bad news is I would have preferred to have been training for this since the beginning of the year but now only have about a month to get ready for it.  My runs this year have maxed out at about 5-6 miles so I have a lot of work to do in a short time to get ready for 13.1.  I’m going to go for 8 miles (with a large hill too) on Sunday.  That’ll be the first big test.

Personal Training – I’m sad to report that I’m not working out with my personal trainer any more.  I used the last of my sessions at the beginning of last week and did not purchase another package.  Cost was the major factor.  I have not a bad thing to say about her.  She was the main reason I’m in the shape I’m in right now and really wish I could continue.  The wallet was telling me otherwise though.

So now I go out on my own.  I’ve done three strength workouts on my own thus far with a lot of the exercises and circuits she had me do (although intensity has been predictably lower without her standing over me) so I feel like I’ve been able to maintain thus far.  I’m really worried about keeping up with quality workouts at a high intensity without her.

Weigh In – I’m VERY excited to tell you that I hit my goal weight of 190 this past week.  I’m currently at 189.6 which is down 12.4 pounds since the beginning of the year.  My body fat is at 17.4% which is down from 19.7% at the start of the year.  My BMI is down from 25.9 to 24.3 and my waist size is down from 35 inches to 33.

I think those are some awesome results and (selfishly, yes) I’m quite proud of myself.  I’m thinking of trying to get down to 185 now.  I haven’t been at that weight in about five years.

Running – This has been going remarkably well lately.  I set a new PR of 23:41 in the 5K distance during a practice run recently.  I continue to do regular runs of anywhere between 3-6 miles and, as long as I take the time to stretch and strengthen, my knees have not given me any problems.  Running pain free is such a big positive that makes the whole running experience completely different.

Like I mentioned before, the half marathon in four weeks is the next big obstacle.  A lot of work ahead to make sure that this will be a good run.  I just need to work fast to build up the distance!

Karate – Good news and bad news on this front.  Last night, I graduated to brown belt in karate.  That puts me about six months away from officially becoming a black belt candidate and probably about nine months away from actually earning my black belt.  After about three years, I can’t believe that the end goal is finally in sight!

The bad news is that last weekend I was supposed to graduate to brown belt in kobudo as well but failed to.  Without going into a long rant, there are days when the instructors come to test and “stripe” you on the various areas of curriculum.  Once you have enough stripes, you’re deemed to be ready to graduate.  Well, I had missed a couple of those striping days due to various family obligations and whatnot and when graduation day arrived, the instructor had made the determination that despite knowing everything that would be tested on I would not be graduating due to a lack of stripes earned.

Anyone who was around me that evening will attest to the fact that I was NOT a pleasant person to be around that night.  The future is very unclear as I now sit at a lower rank than most of the rest of the class.  From what I’ve been told, the instructor realizes that I know the curriculum and am ready to move forward.  Hopefully, this is all a procedural hiccup and I’ll graduate in the next month or so and join the rest of the class at brown belt.  A lot of questions still with very few answers at this point.

So that’s the latest and greatest!  Again, I apologize for the lack of updates lately.  I hope to be able to stop by here as frequently as I can.  I hope you’ll all stick check in once in a while.

Talk to you all again soon!

2 Responses

  1. Well I am glad you popped in to update us! We missed you. Keep us posted on the half…GOODLUCK! And also CONGRATS on the weight loss and body fat loss..that is awesome and a true testiment to your hard work!🙂 I am sorry about the karate disappointment but hang in there…it will come!

  2. I wondered what happened to you! Your 1/2 marathon is so soon, I hope all the training goes smoothly. That’s great news that you hit your goal weight, you’ve really put in a lot of effort and the scale shows it.

Leave a Reply

