• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Cop Out


So, I had the best of intentions Wednesday for getting in the pool and doing a few hundred meters.  It just never happened (just like posting here never happened but that’s another story).  Motivation escaped me.  My excuse is that instead I spent my lunch shopping for my wife’s birthday gift that’s coming up in about a week and a half.  Marriage points are worth more than fitness points!

My sole workout Wednesday came at karate class.  We spent the better part of the class doing lunges with medicine balls and stance work so I can’t say this didn’t come without the physical demands of its own!  Yesterday was another session with the personal trainer (more lunges!) and karate in the evening.  Today, I finally made it back in the pool for that swim that I missed on Wednesday.  I’m glad I get at least the one obligatory swim in this week but I can tell that this is going to be the greatest challenge for me of the three triathlon events.

I managed to make it 550 meters total (in pieces of course).  I was pleased overall with it but I know I need to get in the pool two or three times a week if I’m going to prepare properly for this upcoming race.  I think that will start once my personal training sessions come to an end later this month.

Very much looking forward to this weekend!  The weather is supposed to be fantastic this weekend getting up into the low 40s (yes, I realize to most of the country that still qualifies as cold but after a long winter in the midwest 40s is practically shorts weather).  I’ll hopefully get a nice run in outside or maybe even a bike ride!

Hope you all have a great weekend planned.  See you on Monday!

4 Responses

  1. Yeah, you made the right choice putting the wife first!!!! :> Good job!
    Don’t freak about the swim…just get the mechanics down and when it comes time to put those in action you will be ready…adrenaline will give you the speed.
    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

  2. Wow…I feel like such a brat because it is in the 70’s here today!!!

  3. I’m with you – mid 40s is positively heavenly! I can’t wait to run outside in the “nice” weather. All I ask is no snow, no frost bite and no rain🙂

  4. it’s suppose to be in the 40s here as well and i’m all giddy about it!

Leave a Reply

