• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

I Think The Yoga’s Working!


No fancy greetings this morning.  Today, we jump right into the good news.

I mentioned before that it was recommended I try yoga as a way to alleviate my knee pain.  After two days of using yoga, my IT Band brace and icing the knee, I’m happy to report that the triple whammy seems to be working!

I had success the first time using the IT Band brace during a gentle 5K run on Sunday.  During our warm ups for karate on Monday, we coincidentally got into a few yoga poses for stretching – butterfly, Warrior one, etc.  We focused on the hamstrings, quads and glutes and I honestly felt great afterwards (especially after the butterfly stretch which traditionally I’ve avoided due to my lack of flexibility).

On Tuesday, I decided to do a regular run again.  I planned on doing 5 miles but went with 4 instead (more on that later) at my regular running pace.  Outside of about one minute of discomfort, the run was pain free.  I can’t remember the last time I’ve been able to say that.  I’m beyond excited right now!  After the run, I moved immediately into a lengthy stretching session.  I hit the hamstrings, glutes, quads and IT Bands again using the yoga poses I did before along with some of the traditional lower body stretches that I’ve done for a while.  This morning, all still feels good.

The reason I did a 4 mile run instead of 5 today was that I found out about the New York City 4 Mile Virtual Run/Walk for Haiti at Katie’s blog.  If you register and pay the $30 registration fee (all of which goes towards Haiti relief), you can enter your 4 mile time online (and any method is acceptable – run, walk, treadmill, road, etc.) and have your results compiled with everyone else who has registered.  Another great opportunity to help the folks down in Haiti I think.  Today’s the last day to register and submit your results and you can use any 4+ mile run over the last week.

Today, I’m back in the pool to work on my endurance in the water again.  Hope everybody’s having a great week so far!

6 Responses

  1. yoga can save the world! just kidding — I’ve never done it. But I’d like to try it!

  2. Keep it up…whatever you are doing is working!!! Pain free is the best feeling.
    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

  3. Awesome I’m so glad the yoga helped! Running pain free is an amazing feeling to have.

  4. Glad to hear it’s helping. Stretching–yoga or otherwise–always helps me. Too tight muscles can be killer on joints! Glad you’re feeling better!

  5. glad to hear yoga’s working for you. props to you for having the patience for it😛

  6. Oh great…one more person to guilt me into Yoga!! HAHA! No kidding…glad it is working!🙂

Leave a Reply

