• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Weigh-In Results – Week 9 (Hitting The Wall)


Hey everyone!  Another week.  Another weigh in.  Let’s jump right into it.

For last week’s weigh in, I came in at 195.8 lbs. and 18.6% body fat.  I made a prediction yesterday that I felt I would crack into the 194s based on how I felt the week went, periodic weigh ins at home and my eating log for the week.  Turns out I jinxed the whole operation.  This week?  195.8 lbs.  The same number for three straight weigh ins.  Body fat came in at 18.5% which was down 0.1% from last week.  I’m officially hitting the wall.

I’m guessing that my problem is 20% exercise / 80% diet.  I say that because I think I’ve been able to have better luck managing and dropping weight where I had regular running incorporated into my routine.  I think I’ve been able to do about four runs total in the last month or so that were longer than one mile due to my knee so that piece has definitely been lacking.  But the greatest cause has to be from diet.

Now to clarify, my diet hasn’t been bad.  It just hasn’t been as it should be to achieve weight loss I don’t think.  When I noticed the weight starting to drop consistently up until about a month ago, I think my mind was almost telling me it was easy.  I started to slightly increase portion sizes, slowly add a few questionable choices into my diet and occasionally disobey the “don’t eat anything after dinner” rule.  Again, nothing that shouts “stop doing this!” but nonetheless signs suggesting to pull things back toward the center of the road.

So today, I start tightening the screws!  Today I’ll get back to watching portion sizes and making sure the “questionable” food choices stay out of my diet.  The satisfaction of knowing I’m getting closer to my target weight will last a lot longer than the satisfaction from having something to eat before I go to bed.

Today is also the day I push for a longer run again.  I’m aiming for 5 miles again and will be wearing my IT Band brace in hopes that will help with any lingering knee issues along the way.  It feels good so far so I’m hopeful for a good day!

Out of curiosity, I checked out knee pain like mine on WebMD.  According to the website, it could be lupus, Crohn’s Disease or sickle cell crisis (huh?).  At least cancer was ruled out!

4 Responses

  1. Hitting the walls no fun! Glad to hear your motivating yourself to get back into gear. Good luck on the longer run. Hopefully the knee doesn’t bother you too much.

  2. good luck with the 5. and i don’t know where you are exactly from your target weight but i’ve heard that the closer you are to the number the harder it is to make drop. but good luck with it🙂

  3. Best of luck to you! I know weight loss can be frustrating…

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  4. Goodluck with the 5 miles! I am rooting for you!!

Leave a Reply

