• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Finally A Breakthrough?


Happy Monday morning all (if there even is such a thing).  I had an exciting weekend exercise-wise and want to get right into it.

I’ve beaten it like a dead horse around here lately but I’ve been having some issues with knee pain lately.  I’ve ended up running about once a week max in order to try to give my knee a chance to rest and because, well, it just doesn’t want to seem to run more than that.

I went to the gym like normal on Friday to try to run yet again only to find that all the treadmills were taken.  So instead I went to try out an alternative that I haven’t used in a while – the elliptical machine.  For some reason, I’d never even thought to consider jumping on the elliptical up until Friday.  It operates in something similar to a running motion.  It works with less strain and banging on the knee.  Maybe this is a halfway decent option.

And it turns out it was!  I did about 15 minutes on the elliptical at a moderate but not fast pace but the real good news was that my knee felt great.  Granted, I know that the elliptical works the quads more than pure running does so that may have been a major reason why my knee felt better but I was quite happy that I was able to mimic a running type motion without any major discomfort.

But that wasn’t the only piece of healthy knee news from the weekend.  When my IT Band was giving me trouble last summer, I bought an IT Band brace that I wore for most of my running.  And it helped……sort of.  Since my IT Band hasn’t been giving me any issue this year, I’ve been running without it and it’s been sitting in the bottom of my gym bag.  This weekend, I pulled it back out and gave it a try on my knee that’s giving me trouble now.  Granted, I don’t think my current issue has anything to do with the IT Band but I thought maybe it will help at least a little with some of the discomfort.

The verdict?  I think it did help.  Normally, my knee would feel fine and as I started running it would progressively become more sore.  For my run yesterday?  It started sore at the start and progressively felt better.  A little weird for sure!  After some stretching and icing, I’m happy to report that my knee didn’t give me any issues for the rest of the day.  Maybe I’m finally on to something!  It’s a little sore this morning so I’m far from out of the woods but I’m encouraged that it helped completing a 5K run.

So I’ve decided to put off the doctor’s visit for the time being and give this another chance or two to see if I have similar pain-free results again.  I’m optimistic but cautious.  I’m hopeful for sure.  I’d love to get back to running on a regular basis again.

This news gets my week off to a good start though.  I’m excited to see what this week will look like.  Back to the personal trainer in about a half hour and the weekly weigh in/body fat measurement too.  I’ve weighed in at 195.8 the last two weigh ins.  I’m thinking I may have gotten down to the 194s this week.  Just a hunch.

Have a great start to the week!

7 Responses

  1. An IT band brace? Did it help at all? I’m on the verge of losing my mind, I don’t know what else to do to help it heal.

    • While it didn’t solve the issue completely, I do think the brace helped. It made it feel like the muscle was more stable around the knee with the brace on so in that sense I think it did help. Granted I still felt discomfort at times but I was able to complete longer runs more effectively with it on. I cinched it on pretty tight though. I’d recommend it.

  2. Glad you were able to find an alternative workout to pick up the spirits.

  3. very upbeat. things are turning around. and YES there is a such thing as a happy monday haha🙂

  4. Glad things are looking up. The elliptical is awesome–so much lower impact than a treadmill. I still don’t think I get as good a workout cardiovascularly (it’s a little easier) but that’s OK if it lessens knee pain!

  5. I loved how happy this post was! Glad you had such a good weekend and Happy Monday!!🙂

  6. ooohhhhh I hate waiting for treadmills! But I’m glad the elliptical was a decent alternative! I’m not the biggest fan of it, but I’ll hop on every once in awhile to mix it up.

Leave a Reply

