• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Circuit City! (And Weigh-In Results – Week 8)


That’s what it felt like yesterday during my session with the personal trainer.  Instead of our normal work with the weights and the medicine balls, she leads me to the gym’s yoga studio.  Needless to say, I was intrigued with what was to follow.

I walked in to find all manner of exercise equipment laid out for me – bosu balls, dumbbells, barbells, steps.  There was no question about it.  We were doing circuits.  And probably a lot of them.

And circuits we did!  I’ll try not to be exhaustive in listing all the exercises we did but some of the more prominent ones included barbell curls on the bosu ball, burpees with push-ups, dumbbell military presses, barbell squats and push-up circuits.  Oh yeah, and there was running involved between each set just to “keep the heartrate up” as my trainer likes to remind me regularly.  Like the rest of the workout isn’t accomplishing that already!

While this workout had probably as little “downtime” as any workout in recent memory and I was as spent as I have been post-workout as I have in a few weeks, I have to say that I felt about as good coming out of the workout as I have in a long time!  I really did feel good and that’s what you should feel like after a workout, right?

To try to continue the momentum I think I’ll be hitting the spin bike for a 40 minute ride or so.  My knee came out of yesterday’s workout feeling pretty good overall but it still had that feeling like it could start giving me trouble at any time.  I’ve found that my knee tends to respond well to lower body, non-running type workouts (e.g. biking, squats, etc.).  My thought is that getting in a good lower body workout today and strengthening the muscles around the knee will help the strength of the joint overall and better prepare me for an attempt at a run again tomorrow.  It seems to make logical sense in my head anyway so that’s what I’ll go with!

Yesterday also was the latest weekly weigh-in (actually two weeks since the last weigh in since I stayed home with a sick family last week).  The results?  I weighed in at 195.8 lbs (same as last weigh in) and my body fat was 18.6% (up from 18.4%).  I can’t say I’m surprised with the results.  I fell off the wagon a bit with food consumption the last couple of weeks.  Nothing really bad but I knew I was a little more liberal in what I was eating.  I think it’s safe to say that I was a little more at ease accepting excuses for bad behavior than I have been in the past.  In summary, I know what I did wrong.  I just need to not do it again.

This week feels like it’s off to a good start and I’d like to keep that momentum going.  Hope everyone is having a good week so far.  Enjoy tonight’s episode of Lost!

4 Responses

  1. That sounds like an awesome work out! I love killer workouts, especially when I still feel pumped afterward.

  2. Awesome job on the circuit! Those are great workouts!

  3. yay for lost tonight!! can’t wait. and awesome job with the circuitssss

  4. Glad the knee handled the intense circuit training! Your guess is right: Leg strengthening is so important to reducing knee pain. Wish I learned that long ago. But now I’m a leg workout nut.

Leave a Reply

