• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Time To Be Super Dad!


Sorry for the lack of posting on this site (or checking out many of your sites either) lately.  My daughter fell ill over the weekend and has been spiking a fever and I’ve spent most of my weekend tending to her instead of grabbing the laptop and logging on.  Hope you all understand!

I had to reschedule my workout with the personal trainer today.  I got a grand total of about 3 or 4 hours of sleep last night and I was on call to run home on a moment’s notice to help take care of Josie.  My wife is working from home today and taking care of our daughter at the same time (I know.  Superwoman, right?) and I ran home from a while over lunch so I could help out and hopefully bring them both a little extra comfort.

The reason I got about 3 hours of sleep last night is because I slept next to my daughter last night (or tried to I should say).  She was in a really tender place with her fever and cough and wanted one of us to be next to her so I grabbed a blanket and kept her company.  It really is fun to sleep right next to your child but it’s definitely best done only once in a great while!  She was up about every hour or more uncomfortable in some shape or form so it really was for the best that one of us was right next to her the whole time.

I could tell she was having a rough go of it when she woke up from a nightmare.  I went to pick her up and hug her and all she would do was push me away, cover her mouth and yell “I don’t want it!  I don’t want it!” with a real look of fear on her face.  You don’t like to see your kids scared like that but are always thankful that you’re able to provide that sense of comfort and security to them.

I realize this rant had almost nothing to do with health, fitness or training but I felt I owed you an explanation for my absence (and I like talking about my daughter too!).  Thanks to medicine she seems to be doing better today so hopefully it’s a quick bump in the road and she’s back to good tomorrow.

Tomorrow, I’ll probably hit the treadmill for another run and do some core work to replace what I missed earlier today.  Looking forward to breaking a good sweat again!

Hope you all had a great Monday!

3 Responses

  1. Hope your daughter feels better soon! Sometimes our own attempts at health and fitness endeavors have to be pushed aside for the important things in life.
    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

  2. Aww!! Im glad shes feeling better. Its so sweet that you slept with her. I remember feeling MUCH safer when my dad was with me.

  3. You are SUPERDAD!!! I am glad she is feeling better!!

Leave a Reply

