• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

The Struggle


We’re halfway through the week and this week, thankfully, seems to be moving along a little better than the last one.

Yesterday’s workout was a relatively brief one.  I did a short two mile run on the treadmill followed by a little ab work and some stretching.  I find myself still protective of my knee so I opted not to push the distance this time around.  I want to make sure that the joint is sturdy and sound for the long term instead of trying to push the distance on a single run and risk further injury.

My knee continues to feel OK.  I’m trying to slowly build a good training base to get myself back up to full speed as opposed to just pushing it.  Knee issues seem to be something that will be an ongoing issue for me that will need constant revisiting.  I think working to limit the overexertion of the joints seems to be the correct path to take even if it means limiting the duration or intensity of my workouts.  I pushed it last year in training for the half marathon and my IT Band issues lingered for months.  I’d much rather run a slower pain-free race versus one that hurts for several miles.

Today, I’ll be back on the bike for, hopefully, a solid 30-40 minutes with a few sprints, hills and quad burners mixed in on the spin bike.  A good cardio workout seems like the order of the day.

A brief update on my kobudo goals…..I explained earlier that it looked like I’d still be going for black belt since on the assistant instructors would continue moving us forward.  Well, it turns out that’s back in flux again.  The assistant WANTS to continue moving us forward but it hasn’t been agreed upon by the powers-that-be that she actually will.  The karate school that Sensei Harris ran may end up being sold and that might essentially leave us at a dead end.  Lots of questions but it may still be too soon to answer them.  There’s supposedly a meeting going to take place this week to discuss the future of the Harris Karate Academy and our program.  Just have to wait until we hear more.

I don’t know how many of you watched the season premiere of Lost last night but I LOVED it!  One of my favorite all-time quotes comes from Lost and I thought it was worth repeating today.

The scene was from when Locke was trying to convince Charlie to quit his heroin habit.  Locke points to a cocoon embedded in a tree and begins to relate a story.  He says, “See this tiny hole?  This moth’s almost ready to emerge.  It’s in there right now, struggling, digging its way through the thick hide of the cocoon.  Now I could help it, take my knife, gently widen the opening…  And the moth would be free.  But it’d be too weak to survive.  The struggle is nature’s way of strengthening it.

I thought about that again this week.  Struggle is nature’s way of strengthening.  If running or swimming or anything were easy, everybody would be doing it.  It’s the struggle that makes it great.  It’s what makes the accomplishment that much sweeter.  Admittedly, I don’t particularly enjoy pushing the pace on the run or trying to make it just one more lap in the pool or setting the tension one notch higher on the spin bike.  But, boy, do I love the feeling when I’m all finished with a hard workout.  It’s that sense of accomplishment and pushing through personal limits that keeps me coming back for more!

Hope everyone has a great day!

5 Responses

  1. That is such a great way to look at it….all the struggles in life for sure either kill us or make us stronger…I like to think I’m pretty darn strong after all these struggles!!! Keep up the great work.
    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

  2. That is a great quote!

  3. I love that Lost quote!! And my favorite from last night: When Jacob tells Hurley he’s dead, Hurley says something like: “That sucks, sorry dude.”

  4. that lost quote stuck with me too!

  5. Wednesdays always seem to be the hardest days for me to be motivated…but I ALWAYS feel so good when I push past it and kick Wednesday in the butt! haha!

Leave a Reply

