• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Weigh-In Results – Week 6 (And Lost Returns Tonight!)


I wish you all a happy Groundhog Day!  Today is known to me by a much different moniker.  It’s the one day I have looked forward to more than any other during the TV viewing season.  Yes, my friends, the season premiere (the FINAL season premiere, sadly) of Lost is tonight!  More on that in a little bit.

Yesterday marked the return of workouts with my personal trainer (good to have her putting me through a “proper” workout again), the first real workout in my new shoes (they feel great so far) and the return of the knee pain free workout (still feeling great too).  3 for 3!

And today also marked the latest weekly weigh in.  Today’s results were truly unexpected.  I weighed in yesterday at 195.8 lbs (down a full 2.0 lbs) and my body fat measurement was 18.4% (down 0.6%).  Both of these numbers are fantastic and I’m very excited.

I am a little surprised though.  This is the second time that I’ve lost a full 2 pounds over the course of a week.  I always shot for a loss of about a pound a week.  I’m not sure what exactly I’m doing to achieve a weight loss of 2 pounds.  It could be water weight or something else but the weight loss has been fairly consistent throughout the year so far.

Let’s focus on the positive though.  The first month of 2010 has been undeniably successful from a health and fitness standpoint.  Since the beginning of the year, I’ve dropped over 6.2 pounds and my body fat measurement has dropped from a peak of 19.7% down to the current 18.4%.  This has been a fantastic start to the new year.

I have kept in mind though that from a weight standpoint technically I’m back to the point I started at when I started working with a personal trainer in late October.  I started at about 195 and relatively quickly moved up to a peak weight of 203 within two months.  I think part of it had to do with muscle gain but I think diet was a big offender too.  I talked myself into believing that I could eat most anything I wanted since I was working out.  Clearly, that wasn’t the case.  So I cleaned up my diet, cut out the after dinner munching and am thankful that I’ve been able to get back to where I started.  The next goal – 190!

I’m going to hit the treadmill again and shoot for a 3-5 mile run again but tonight I’ll be doing nothing but sitting in front of the TV.  Why?  Lost is back!  Three hours in total tonight and I’ll be on the couch for every minute of it!

There are only two shows I watch religiously – Lost and 24.  I’ve been watching both since day 1 and am truly sad that this will be the final season of Lost.  I know that there are a lot of people who gave up on it due to the endlessly complex storylines but I love a show that makes me think.  I hope that they’re able to tie up everything to a satisfying conclusion and I think they will.  I’m totally stoked that the show is finally back!

Hope everybody has a great day!

4 Responses

  1. Congrats!! You’re working hard and Im so happy to see your success!

  2. congrats with the great numbers. you definitely have been putting in the work.

    and YES to both lost and 24!! amazing shows

  3. I’m totally with you. I started watching Lost during Season 1 and I never gave up, even when friends dropped out and said it wasn’t worth the time. (I considered it during the episode those people got buried alive, though.) I’m so psyched for this new season, especially since last season was so good!

    Oh, and I’m addicted to 24, too. You have good taste.

  4. AWESOME!!! I am so happy for you on those awesome numbers!!! You have been working so hard…you’ve earned this!! Woot Woot!! GO DAVE!

Leave a Reply

