• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

RIP Sensei Paul Harris


Those of you who have visited the blog here know that I speak occasionally of my practice of martial arts and, more specifically, the Japanese weapons art of kobudo.

I learned a short time ago that my kobudo instructor, Sensei Paul Harris, died in his sleep last night suddenly and unexpectedly.

He was a teacher, a mentor and a friend to a countless number of people.  Few people who practice martial arts in the state of Wisconsin hadn’t at least heard of him.  He had grown close to myself and many others at our karate school and his loss will be incalculable.  His commanding presence and respect for all those who shared his love will not soon be replaced.  I’m privileged to have had the opportunity to practice with him.

The kobudo program was one of his babies and his loss makes the future of the program as well as my personal attempt at achieving black belt later this year very much uncertain.  But that’s the least of our concerns right now.

Please keep the family in your thoughts as they navigate a very difficult step of the journey.

7 Responses

  1. I’m sorry but I just heard about Paul. When my wife was dying from cancer he came and showed her his kindness and faith. He was and always will be a part of my life I will never forget. My prayers go out to his family and friends. The world lost a great man.

  2. Sensei Paul Harris was a great man with a great influence in our martial arts community. He will be missed by many many people. R.I.P. Sensei.

  3. So sorry to hear about the loss of your teacher. He sounds like a wonderful that taught you so much.

  4. Im so sorry for your loss.

  5. Sensei Harris was a great man, when I found out this morning at the UWGB Campus Karate I almost collapsed. Whatever it was, he was the kindest man I’ve met in all my years and he led a hell of a life.

  6. I am so sorry for your loss.

  7. Sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

