• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Date Night!


I don’t know about you but this weekend couldn’t have come fast enough this week.  This week seemed to drag on forever but Friday’s finally here and I couldn’t be more excited because my wife and I are going on date night tonight for the first time in about three months (kids put a serious dent in your social calendar).  It’s just dinner and then meeting up with some friends afterwards but it’ll be great to just get some “us” time.

Good news first!  My knee which was giving me trouble the last couple of days feels fine today.  No issues, discomfort or tightness whatsoever.  My guard is still up though and I don’t want to rush back into anything so I’m thinking a short easy jog or a little time on the bike to see how it feels might be in order.  Tracey recommending seeing a doctor to get it checked out and given her history with knee problems it might not be a bad idea.  Either way, it’ll be an easy weekend for the joints as I try to nurse things back to health.  I’d say that this would be a good time to focus on the swim portion of triathlon training but the pool at the gym is out of commission for the next two weeks.  Bad break!

With my knee on the mend, we skipped any type of lower body work yesterday and focused entirely on the upper body.  That meant several push-up and ab circuits along with some bi, tri and back work.  We’ve been doing something called pyramid circuits for both chest and abs.  Here’s what a typical pyramid circuit looks like for push-ups…

  • 6 regular push-ups
  • 5 diamond push-ups
  • 4 push-ups on one medicine ball (2 on each side)
  • 3 push-ups on two medicine balls
  • 2 push-ups on two medicine balls with feet on the bosu ball
  • 1 push-up on two medicine balls with feet held at waist level by the trainer
  • 1 push-up on two medicine balls with feet held at waist level by the trainer
  • 2 push-ups on two medicine balls with feet on the bosu ball
  • 3 push-ups on two medicine balls
  • 4 push-ups on one medicine ball (2 on each side)
  • 5 diamond push-ups
  • 6 regular push-ups

OK, I suppose this ends up looking more like a “V” circuit than a pyramid but you get the point.  If you’re anything like me you won’t be needing much additional work on the chest after a circuit like this.

That’s about all I have the energy to think about right now.  Hope everyone has plans for a great weekend!

5 Responses

  1. That push up workout sounds awesome! I can’t wait to try something like that out. I used to HATE doing push ups, but now after finishing the 100 push up challenge in January I LOVE them.

  2. My week went on and on too. I seriously think I should start a petition to make weekends 3 days long. Think it would work?
    Have fun on your date night! Sounds like fun.

  3. So happy to hear the knee pain has subsided somewhat. I’d still keep an eye on it and/or see a doc just to be sure.🙂

    I couldn’t agree more about this week dragging on. Enjoy the date night! Maybe I’ll convince my husband to do the same.

  4. Ooooh, that looks like a great workout…going to mark this for future reference!
    Enjoy your date night…mommies and daddies need romance too!
    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

  5. Awesome workout!!! Oh and have so much fun on date tonight! My husband and I are having date night on Saturday…isn’t it fun?!?

Leave a Reply

