• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Didn’t Quite Make It


Well, you know what they say about good intentions.

I had every intention of making it 5 miles during my noontime run yesterday.  It turns out that I only made in 3.5.  I just didn’t have it in me to make it the full 5 yesterday.  I think there are a few different contributing factors.

First could be all the stairs and the lower body workout from Monday.  My legs didn’t feel entirely that bad so I don’t know if that was the big reason.  Second was the lingering cold.  I felt much better yesterday overall but I still had some stuffiness up in the head.  In particular, my nose was blocked and that prevented me from breathing normally so I was huffing and puffing much earlier in the run than I had anticipated.

Either way, I just didn’t have the energy to cover the full distance.  I’m disappointed but I could tell after the 3 mile mark when my head was back, I was breathing hard and my arms were flapping that it wasn’t going to be my day.  I like to think I took a lesson from my workouts last week and realized what my limits were instead of pushing myself harder and creating more problems in the longer term.  Still, 3.5 miles isn’t a bad run.  I should give myself credit for what I did do instead of focusing on what I didn’t do.

So then.  What’s the plan for today?  I’m going to try for it again.  Just because I didn’t make the full distance yesterday doesn’t mean that I won’t today.  Wednesdays are normally the day that I hit the pool for the swim but they’re doing repairs on it this week.  I figure this is a great opportunity to get an extra run in this week and build a little extra endurance in the legs.

So wish me luck……….again!

7 Responses

  1. I have plenty of days where Im just not up for a long run. No real reason, Im just not. But the next day is usually WAY better. Its like a mini break ya know?

  2. GOOD FOR YOU! Goodluck…I am totally rooting for you! GO DAVE GO!

  3. good luck hitting that run today

  4. I’m only walking and I still have a hard time making it 5 miles! (And my goal is 10!) Totally treat it as something positive you could make it that far, and just remember the more it hurts the more its working.

  5. Yeah, I know those days well… when you’re so motivated and excited and as soon as you start running you just think, “oh this isn’t going to go well.” I don’t get it!

  6. Trying is the most important thing!! I’m sure you’ll get there soon enough🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

Leave a Reply

