• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

A Great Run But Knee Issues Return


My second attempt at the 5 mile run was a complete success this afternoon with one small caveat.  Knee problems have officially returned.  And not in the knee that gave me issues before.  The other one.

Let’s start with the good news first.  My run today I would consider wildly successful.  I think the main reason was because I focused on something that I really haven’t before – controlling my breathing.  My typical pattern in the past was to start breathing properly – in through the nose and out through the mouth – for about the first five minutes and then it sort of becomes a free for all.  When it reaches that point, I almost start breathing just to survive the run.  I didn’t realize what a huge difference it makes until I tried to control my breathing throughout the run.

As I made a conscious effort to breath this way for the duration of the run, I found that running became much more effortless.  I hit the 1 mile marker and I felt like I had just stepped on the treadmill.  At mile 2, I still felt great.  Great enough that the thought had entered my mind that I go for the full 10K distance if it kept up.  At mile 3, fatigue starting setting in a little but at this point I knew I would be hitting the full 5 miles.

It was at about the 4.5 mile mark that I started noticing tightness in my left knee.  It wasn’t painful necessarily but it felt like my knee wasn’t appreciating the pounding I was putting on it.  This is contrast to the IT Band issues I had in my right knee where I felt pain in the outside of my knee.  This is in my left knee right in front and in the middle.  Right below the kneecap.

My initial thought was that my running shoes are nearing the end of their useful life and are ready to be replaced.  What I experienced was a lessening of the joint support provided by the shoes and today my knee finally paid the price.  I’ve had them since the summer of 2008 and have put approximately 350 miles on them.

Has anybody experienced this type of knee issue and, if so, how did you remedy it?  Would a new pair of running shoes potentially be the answer?

I’m going to give it a good rest tonight and see how it feels in the morning.  Hopefully, it loosens up a bit overnight and I can have a solid session with my trainer tomorrow.  My worry is that I’ll continue having knee problems like this and any aspiration of running a distance race again might end up being a pipe dream.  I’ll continue stretching and strengthening and hope for the best for now.  I suppose it’s about all I can do.

Have a great Thursday!

8 Responses

  1. Your comment about something, i suggest too be it more long as possible.

  2. Oh no. Maybe you are trying to overcompensate with your other knee? Good luck with that, but cheers for your other knee🙂

    – Kloé

  3. Trying out a new pair of shoes might do the trick, but I know for me when my knees or legs or really anywhere begins to hurt I head to the chiropractor. Mine does wonders with imbalances which is great because one of my legs is slightly longer than the other.

    Hope your knee recovers soon.

  4. Do you have pain right under the kneecap? Or is it more in the tendon right below the kneecap? If it’s directly under the kneecap, it could be runner’s knee, or patella femoral pain syndrome. Please, please, please (I’m begging, see?) make an appointment with an orthopedic to find out for sure; don’t assume it has to do with your shoes. Nip this thing in the bud before it gets to be a bigger problem (runner’s knee is, after all, cartilage damage). Take it from the girl who still can’t walk four blocks because of runner’s knee pain–treating the problem ASAP is critical!

    • I’m glad you replied. I was going to hunt down your website to see if you had any thoughts on this.

      It’s not directly below the kneecap. It’s more to the middle-right area below the kneecap. It seems to become more painful as I try to push it harder. For example, when I sit and rest or walk normally, it feels fine for the most part. I tried a slow jog on the treadmill today to see what would happen and it became increasingly uncomfortable almost immediately so I stopped.

      In researching it, I’ve found everything from rest to ice to ibuprofen to yoga could help.

      And no need to beg. After the IT Band issues I had last summer, I’m not eager to push it with another potential issue. Thanks for following up!

  5. Oh yeah… new shoes. For sure. Running becomes such an expensive hobby, doesn’t it? 🙂

  6. new shoes usually always help my aches and pains. and 350 miles seems like it’s smack dab in the middle of the “acceptable miles” range. ice and ibuprofen are good too and if it keeps up there is the dreaded 4 letter word: rest *shudder*

  7. You should get new shoes for sure. But it also sounds like a case of “runner’s knee.” I sometimes get that feeling off and on. I ice my knee after a run if I start getting that feeling, that seems to help aid in recovery.
    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

Leave a Reply

