• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Monday Morning And I’m Ready To Go!


Good morning all!  Hope you’re week is off to a good start!

Thanks to all for the well wishes for my health over the last several days.  I’m happy to say that I’m doing much better today.  The congestion in my head seems to finally be dissipating today and I’m feeling healthier now than I have at any point in the past week.  Here’s hoping that a good workout today won’t undo all of that!

And what better day to be feeling better.  Today is weigh-in day and I think for the first time since I’ve started weekly weigh-ins, I’m expecting a weight loss today.  I’m not sure it has much to do with healthy eating as much as it has to do with the fact that the cold this weekend seemed to have affected my appetite.  There were times where I had a bowl of cereal for dinner and just didn’t feel like anything else.  I weighed in at 198.6 last week and I think I’ll be under 198 this week.  Just a feeling.

I mentioned yesterday how the thought of doing a full marathon realistically entered my mind for the first time this weekend.  I’m nowhere near prepared for it right now but after watching “Spirit Of The Marathon” and reading the success stories of others having completed long distance races, I just can’t shake the thought of competing in a marathon from my mind.  I thought last summer that running the half marathon was about as far as I would ever go.  Maybe it isn’t.

I think being able to dedicate the time to running and training for it will be the big challenge.  I started working out over lunch time so I wouldn’t have to sacrifice family time in the evening but you can’t realistically train for a marathon in 45 minutes a day over lunch.  Like I said before, I just need to sit on it for a little while.  I’d be interested in hearing any stories of how balancing training for a distance race and family time has worked out for you.

Off to the gym for now.  Have a great week!

3 Responses

  1. Hope you’re feeling better. I can empathize with you. It is difficult to manage the balance between training, family and job commitments. I am only training for a half marathon, but I certainly have faced the same dilemmas. I’ve taken to training at lunch, and getting up early on weekends for my long runs. I’ve been sacrificing rest and recovery time to be with family but I wouldn’t change a thing. I’ve been staying motivated by telling myself that learning to juggle all of these different roles is all part of game.

  2. marathon training is a big commitment. i mean you can put as much or as little time into as you want/need/are able but i guess it depends on your goals. i’m someone who would never think “oh i just want to finish it” so i put a huge amount of time in and make other things less of a priority.

    i agree with everything kelly said. i’m a college student and my social life was impacted not a lot but it was. i’m lucky that i don’t have many other responsibilities other than school and friends so it ended up being ok and working for me

  3. Well I will be 100% honest with you: marathon training is a HUGE commitment! It isn’t something you can half-ass. It affects your life a lot (in my opinion). For example: I always do my long runs on Saturday mornings. Which means usually 2 things: Friday nights I don’t want to go out because I like to start my runs early and then usually on Saturday night I didn’t want to stay out super later because I was tired from a 20+ mile run that morning. I don’t have children so that made it easier but it did affect our social life when I was in marathon mode.

Leave a Reply

