• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

3rd Straight Rest Day


Sickness continues to run wild in our house lately.  My wife and I are both battling coughs and colds and last night our daughter came down with a nasty case of the stomach flu.  Needless to say, we’ve been focusing our energy on just getting through the day lately.

Today will be rest day #3 in a row for me.  While I’ve been enjoying working out lately, I’ve also felt that the extra rest has been just what I needed.  I’ve still got to kick whatever is running through me but my body and my muscles do feel noticably refreshed and I think that can only help me when I start hitting the pavement again.

Tomorrow (health pending of course) is the next weekly weigh-in, personal training session, and karate class.  A full plate for sure!  I’m looking forward to getting back to the grind again!

A friend of mine pointed out a movie to me called “The Spirit Of The Marathon” this past week.  I had no immediate plans of trying to run a marathon but, boy, this movie really made me want to try to give it a shot.  I found the people that they profiled to be genuinely easy to root for and to see the entire experience of the Chicago Marathon was really cool!  Who knows?  Maybe I’ll be talking about going for it in the not too distant future.

Meanwhile, congratulations to Kelly on qualifying for the New York City Marathon today.  Her’s was one of the first blogs I came across as I started searching through the fitness & running universe and it remains one of those that I check out on a daily basis.  I find her enthusiasm for running, fitness, nutrition and family to be contagious and is one of the reasons I keep pushing myself to go harder towards my own personal fitness goals.  Congratulations on job well done!

Hope everyone is enjoying what’s left of the weekend!

3 Responses

  1. hope you feel better soon. i’m sure the extra rest will do wonders

  2. David…thank you so much for that sweet note! I really appreciate that! Truly…thank you.

  3. Yeah, I never thought I would run more than 4 miles…today I ran 7! So you never know, that marathon might be closer than you think. I officially registered for the Green Bay Half…can’t wait.
    Hope you are feeling better soon!
    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

Leave a Reply

