• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Sick Day


So it turns out that pushing myself yesterday was not a good idea.  After starting the day not feeling great to begin with, my session with the personal trainer made me feel even worse.  She went a little lighter on me than usual but it was still enough to drain almost all of my energy and leave me feeling pretty weak.  If that wasn’t enough, my decision to go do karate after that was the proverbial nail in the coffin.  I felt bad enough last night that I ended up calling in sick to work today.

I think I’ll take this as a sign that I should take it easy for a day or two.  I’ve been trying to continue like normal with this chest cold for most of the week and I think the main result of this has been that I haven’t been able to work out as intensely as normal yet I also haven’t been able to get back to being 100% again.  I think I’ll better serve myself and my family by taking a little time to getting healthy again and then we can push forward again.

I was presented with a couple of challenges yesterday (and anybody who knows me knows I can’t resist a challenge).  First was at kobudo class last night.  The instructor told us that the class was being split into two – one will be for the students that are ready to progress to the next belt level and one will be for the students who are not ready to move on be it due to absence, injury or other reason.  When I heard this, the first thing that went through my head was what do I need to do to make sure I’m in that group that’s ready to graduate.  Truthfully, I’m probably somewhere between the two groups right now leaning towards the group that’s ready to move forward but I want to make sure I leave no doubt.  So in addition to training for a triathlon, I need to find a little more time to polish my forms and work on my self defenses.

The second challenge came from a friend of mine who’s been a runner for years and years and challenged me to do a marathon with him.  While I can’t say that a marathon is in the cards for me in the immediate future I can’t say that the idea of trying it doesn’t intrigue me.  Maybe 2 or 3 years down the road I’ll come back to it.

Time to get back on the couch and catch up on my DVR.  Have a great weekend everyone!

7 Responses

  1. I had to take this entire week off from running because Ive been sick too. Listening to your body is so important. Plus, after some time off, you feel SO refreshed when you get out there again!

  2. I read this great article in Runner’s World about whether or not you should run when you’re sick – it says that a good rule of thumb is that if your symptoms are above the neck, it is OK to exercise but if symptoms are into your chest, it’s time for rest rather than activity.

    http://askcoachjenny.runnersworld.com/2009/12/should-i-run-when-im-sick.html

    Hope you feel better soon!

  3. Hope you get feeling better soon. Rest and recovery is just as important as pushing yourself!

  4. I did the exact same thing as you: feeling a bit under the weather, but still went workout… I called in sick the very next day, with a horrible chest cold.. I feel fine now (over a week ago) but my body is still recovering, and gets really sore after what’s usually mild exercise! so REST indeed!!! You’ll get back on your feet a lot faster!

    – Kloé

  5. Definitely listen to your body and REST! Typically I advise my clients that if the “cold” is in your head it is okay to continue working out (but keeping the heart rate below 145) but once the “cold” moves to the chest you need to stop, slow down and REST!!! So good move!🙂

  6. rest up! youll be back before you know it ready to attack. and get into the ready-to-graduate group🙂

  7. Rest is JUST as important as activity in a healthy lifestyle…and sometimes you need to listen to your body and not push. Take a day or two off and you will be back and ready to hit it harder than ever!
    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

Leave a Reply

