• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Tough Day Ahead…


Good morning everyone,

I’m feeling a little under the weather this morning and this is probably the workout day where I can least afford to not be feeling my best.  This afternoon is my normal session with the personal trainer and this evening is a 75 minute kobudo class followed by a 60 minute sparring class.  Today is probably the most physically intense day of the month for me.

Even though I’m not feeling 100% today, I’m committed to making it through each one of these workouts today even if it’s not at full intensity.  Plus, as a bonus I’ve decided to reward myself tonight when I get home around 8:30 and all the workouts are said and done.  I’m going to have an apple with peanut butter!  I haven’t had one of these in a little while and almost forgot how much I enjoyed them so tonight my reward for making it through the day will be a granny smith apple with peanut butter!

Yesterday, I did a bike-run-bike circuit.  Nothing terribly intense though as my thighs were still sore and tight and the primary goal of the workout was to loosen them up and get them feeling a little better.  The workout seemed to serve that purpose.  I did 15 minutes on the spin bike alternating between low and moderate resistance followed by a 10 minute treadmill run at 7.1MPH and wrapping up with another 15 spin bike at low and moderate resistance.  I think I’m really gaining an appreciation for the workouts which while not necessarily physically intense are still able to get a good sweat going while getting the blood flowing throughout your body and loosening up some of the muscles and joints.  I feel better after these workouts than perhaps any others.

One more quick item….I updated the Resources page again to add a few more links that I’ve been visiting a lot lately.  Nothing new yet on the Exercises page.  It’s been a slow process in adding things over there but it will be growing again soon!

Also, congratulations to all my fellow “stompers” out there.  The official results were finally posted for the Samson Stomp 5K this past weekend.  1,097 runners in total braved the 30 degree temperatures to raise money for the Milwaukee County Zoo.  Great job all!

4 Responses

  1. Apple and peanut butter is my all time favorite snack.

    Thats a pretty intense workout. Good for you for deciding to tough it out.

  2. hope you feel better and can attack each workout 110%. and apple w/ pb is ah-maz-ing!

  3. Apple and peanut butter is an awesome snack! I also like it with almond butter…have you tried that?

    • I have not tried almond butter. The Fresh Market over by us has a station where you can grind your own. Maybe that’s a good starting point without having to buy a whole jar.

Leave a Reply

