• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

No Workout But I Got A Haircut!


Happy Hump Day everyone!

I’ve spent part of the morning so far looking through pictures I found online of the 5K I ran this weekend.  One of the photographers on the course got a good picture of me right before the finish line but I’m not able to copy the picture here to share with you (unless I want to pay for it and I don’t think I want it THAT badly).  It’s a fun reminder of a fun event though!

As the title of this post suggests, I didn’t work out yesterday.  I didn’t plan my Monday evening too well and ended up staying up well past 11PM (which is quite late for me) finishing things up and I spent most of Tuesday dragging due to lack of sleep.  My thighs still feel quite tight presumably from the 5K on Sunday so I just wasn’t in the right place physically or mentally to get a run or a bike in on Tuesday.

So instead I got a haircut!  I won’t go into any detail about that because I really doubt anybody wants to hear about it.

I got a good night’s sleep last night and I’m feeling better today so I’ll be back at the gym this afternoon for my workout.  I’m thinking that today’s a bike day although I haven’t completely ruled out getting on the treadmill today either.

I spent a little time yesterday checking out the event calendar at Running In The USA.  Part of me is wondering if I should try not one but two triathlons this summer.  I was thinking maybe a sprint distance in July and then go for the Olympic distance in August.  Maybe that’s too much although I would be interested in getting a feel for a tri before I actually do the Olympic distance one.  I think I need to noodle this one for a little while.  Any opinions?

One last little interesting tidbit…..I made a post a couple days ago titled “Samson Stomp 5K Results”.  Since then, I’ve seen traffic to the blog jump by about 500%.  It looks like a lot of people who are googling “Samson Stomp Results” are inadvertantly finding their way here.  While I doubt that many of these folks are going to be repeat visitors, I’m hoping that at least a few of you will stick around and enjoy the stories and information you find here.  If not, no worries.  I’ll still look forward to running another 5K with you!

Until tomorrow…..

6 Responses

  1. I did a sprint for my first…unfortunately I did it at the very end of the midwest tri season last summer and couldn’t fit in another. I would recommend a sprint first…just to get a feel for the transitions and all those other things you can’t really “practice” and need to experience!
    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

  2. i’ve never done a tri but i’ve been toying with the idea. but i hate biking so i doubt i’ll ever do one haha

  3. Triathlon’s are awesome! Have you ever done one before? If not why not start with a small one (a rookie or a sprint) and then go from there!

  4. I’ve never done a triathlon but if it was me I’d probably try out a shorter one before the longer one… just to get a feel for what I was getting myself into.

  5. Do it! That an eventual goal for me to work my way up to an ironman, but first thing on the list is learning how to swim :-s … So you should really do it! Can you imagine how rewarding it would be? Good Luck, and thanks for your comment.

    – Kloé

  6. The triathlon, do it. If you don’t you might start wondering “what-if”. Sign up for the first one, do that and when that is out of the way, sign up for the other if you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

