• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Samson Stomp 5K Results


First of all, my apologies for the lack of posting yesterday and my inability to communicate the results of Sunday’s 5K sooner.  We ran in the morning and once we got home we rested for a little while.  Then it was outside for a little play time in the snow with my daughter, over to the neighbors for a play date and dinner, and then it was to bed early.  I barely even got to the computer and didn’t even watch any football either.  A lot of family time yesterday though so it was definitely a good day!

As for the race itself, it turned out to be a great day to run.  No wind, sunny, and about low 30s by the time the race kicked off.  As for the course, it was a lot wavier than I would have liked.  Lots of little ups and downs and a few 90 degree turns throughout the course.  And a LOT of people.  I think there were about 1200 people total running the race.

I finished the 5K in 26:03 unofficially.  I’m satisfied with that result…….I think.

These are the reasons I’m satisfied.

First, A 26:03 5K time translates to somewhere between 7.1 and 7.2MPH.  That’s the pace that I’d been doing most of my runs at recently on the treadmill.  Being able to maintain the treadmill pace while running outside where the temperature is in the 30s on a wavy course I think is a good thing.

Second, there were literally hundreds of people on the course.  I couldn’t get into a good groove and pace until at least the 1 mile mark and even then it was still a little crowded at points.  It was very similar to my experience in the Door County Half Marathon where we were fighting to get around people for about the first mile or so.  I knew going in that running at PR pace was going to be difficult with all of the additional factors and that was indeed the case.

Third, I felt like I ran a really good pace all considered.  I felt once I crossed the finish line that I ran about as good a race as I really could’ve hoped for.  It’s tough to feel bad when you feel like you ran about as hard as you could.

Here’s the one thing that’s weighing on my mind though.  My first 5K in the summer of 2008 I finished in 27:19.  That was after about a month of preparation.  I’ve been working with a personal trainer for three months now and have been triathlon training a solid 5 days of week so I feel like I’ve been putting in the work lately.  With all that, my latest 5K time only improved by a little over one minute.  I really was hoping for a bit better time.

I think I need to focus on the positive though.  This was a good first step and I have noticed improvement in my overall performance.  The experience of doing a 5K again did get me excited about doing another race soon.  The Steve Cullen Run is an 8K that will be taking place in February and I’m contemplating going for that one too.

Thank you to all of you who passed along well wishes and messages of encouragement in the last couple of weeks.  I’ve read every one of them and I genuinely appreciate every single one.

Today is working out with the personal trainer and the weekly weigh-in.  Could this be the day I get back below 200?  Might be.

Enjoy your Martin Luther King Day!

9 Responses

  1. Thats a great time!!
    Once again I’ll tell you I do 5.5 kms in 35 minutes . . . lol so I find your time to be very impressive!!

  2. I found this searching for the “official” race results, and I think with the madhouse that was this 5K, it’ll be awhile😉

    In any case, great job!! But I definitely understand any disappointment (warranted or not) that you feel. I ran my first 5K after four months of total noob training (never running in my life) in 27:53, my best time so far was 25:30 this past fall. Sunday’s race? Over 28 minutes, unofficially. I had taken December off for various reasons, and the cold, damp air was rough on my newly healed-from-a-chest-cold lungs, but I was still a little disappointed in myself. In any case, we just need to use these particular instances as fuel for the fire!! If we did great every time, the success wouldn’t be as sweet🙂 In the end, great job and keep it up!!

    • Thanks for stopping by! Yeah, I’ve been getting a lot of traffic to the blog with people looking for the Samson Stomp results. Unfortunately, I only have mine handy. I’m guessing it’ll be a few more days before we see anything official.

      Great job on the runs! I checked out your blog and read through some of your goals. The half marathon is definitely doable. I trained for a half after only completing a 5K and after about four months of running managed to finish the race (didn’t post a great time but still finished). You’ll do great. Go for it!

  3. From the sounds of it, the amount of people on the course and other things should be factored in your time. That is part of what makes racing more exciting than the treadmill..the other people, adrenaline, weather, etc. You improved a whole minute…that is awesome in the scheme of things!
    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

  4. Great job! Definitely be proud. It sounds like a fun day with the family.🙂

  5. Awesome time and nice work! You should be real proud of that🙂

  6. I was so excited to come to your blog today and check how you did! First, I want to say CONGRATS! That is a great time and you should be proud of yourself. Second, I think that if you did a longer race you would see more improvement for all the work you have put in. 5K’s are hard because they are a very popular race distance meaning they are usually very CROWDED (as you experienced) and it makes getting into a groove hard. It is a relatively short distance and so if you don’t get a good start then you never really have a chance to make it up. I think when you do the 8K you really see the difference all your hard work is making! But regardless…I am super proud of you and think you did great! SMILE…you kicked butt!

  7. Wow! That’s impressive! Congrats on the 5K, sounds like you rocked it🙂

  8. great race! congrats. i think it’s okay to be slightly “disappointed” with your time. often times i am even if it’s a damn near perfect race! it seems like you have everything in perspective though and are focusing on the good. so congrats again!

Leave a Reply

