• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

“Your Legs Are Dead Today.”


This is what my personal trainer told me towards the end of our training session yesterday.  Well, they probably should be.  After putting in a solid workout on the spin bike on Wednesday, we started Thursday’s session with…………the spin bike!  Just a 5 minute circuit but it was enough to really hit the quads hard.  After that “warm-up”, it was kettlebell lunges, Smith Machine squats, and Smith Machine lunges.  It was the last one that earned the quote from my trainer.

She was right though.  My legs did feel dead.  I think a lack of proper stretching after my bike workout on Wednesday was at least partially at fault.  I did a quick quad, calf, and hamstring stretch following the workout and it probably wasn’t enough to get the blood properly flowing through the muscles again.  I don’t feel too badly about it though.  With all the leg work over the past couple of days, it would seem that most people’s legs would get tired.

And if that wasn’t enough, at karate last night our instructor decided to emphasize stance work.  That meant front stances, back stances and horse stances up and down the floor.  Plus, we finished up with medicine ball lunges up and down the floor.  Yes, my legs are officially toast!

Today, I packed up my long sleeve t-shirts and am going to get an outdoor run in before the 5K race on Sunday.  I figure it’s all best to do a little preparation beforehand so I don’t go into a race without any idea of what the conditions will be like.  I’ll probably shoot for 3 miles or so but the pace will be relatively easy.  Don’t want to push a pair of fatigued legs even further than is necessary.  Saturday will be a much needed off day (pie party!) and then the race on Sunday.  I’m totally looking forward to it!  I think it’ll be a fun day.

On a completely non-fitness related note, I’ve decided to make my donation to Haiti earthquake relief today.  I haven’t typically donated to relief causes in the past but felt particularly motivated to help a nation that’s already been battered by weather, economic and political unrest.  I think I was particularly moved by Wyclef Jean’s story.  He’s down there right now sifting through rubble, helping families who’ve lost everything and is lobbying world leaders for assistance.  If he can get that involved, the least I can do is make a donation.  Please consider donating if you haven’t already.

Enjoy your weekend!  Especially if you get a long one with the Martin Luther King holiday!

8 Responses

  1. Kettlebell swings!!!! Love!! But can see how that would kill your legs dead if they weren’t already.
    I agree, normally I don’t feel moved enough to do much but I did my text donation. I kind of wish I was still out of work at this point because I would go on a relief mission. We all just need to do what we can.
    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

  2. Very much appreciate you swinging by the blog!

    Big time respect for triathletes! Mastering endurance 3 sports is no joke. Looking forward to your race report. Best of luck on Sunday.

  3. Goodluck with the 5k! Race weekends are always so much fun!

  4. Good luck with your race this weekend!!

    Its so great that you donated – the stories are just devastating.

  5. Can’t wait to hear how you do this weekend!🙂

  6. Thanks for commenting on my blog. I left you a response about your IT Band troubles. Sorry to hear you’re in pain. It sounds, from your posts, that you’re still very active. That’s a plus.

    I’m glad you pointed me here because I can’t wait to read more about your training. Maybe it’ll inspire me to challenge myself in some way despite injured knees.

  7. thanks for the comment on my blog!

    good luck this weekend and i can’t wait to read more about your triathlon training. that kind of stuff (3 sports?!) inspires me!!

  8. Ooooh I’d like a long weekend!

    Stretch!!! It’s vital trust me ;)…and great for donating – it’s a tragedy and the news keeps getting worse it seems. I guess we can just help as we can and PRAY.

Leave a Reply

