• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Back To The Bike And A Pie Party!


Happy Thursday everyone!  After last night’s episode of American Idol, I’m making darn sure that I don’t have my pants on the ground today!

Yesterday was another bike workout.  I had a little less time than usual so I did a 30 minute interval workout on the spin bike followed by some ab work and a little stretching.  I wanted to focus on getting some distance on the bike versus doing a quick intense circuit but I also wanted to mix some sprints and hills in there too.

I ended up changing the resistance from low to low-medium and back every five minutes while mixing in a 60 second “hill” in the middle of every 5 minute stretch.  So it ended up looking like this….

  • 2.5 minutes at low resistance
  • 1 minute “hill” at high resistance
  • 1.5 minutes at low resistance
  • 2.5 minutes at low-medium resistance
  • 1 minute “hill” at high resistance
  • 1.5 minutes at low-medium resistance

….and keep that up for 30 minutes total (with a 30 second sprint mixed in at the beginning and the end).  I was surprised in that this workout made the 30 minutes go by really quickly.  Maybe it was the constant switching of pace and resistance but it really worked well for me.  I’ll be using this workout again in the future!

Today is the “gauntlet” day again – working out with the personal trainer over lunch and then two hours of karate this evening.  Tomorrow, I plan on doing a 3-4 mile run outdoors to get used to running in cold weather in preparation for Sunday’s race.  Saturday will probably be an off day with maybe some stretching and then the 5K on Sunday.  I’m feeling pretty good about how the race will go and am excited to get back to racing again!

The one thing that could sabotage my efforts is a little get-together my wife planned at our house on Saturday.  She’s throwing a pie party and it’s just what it sounds like.  The purpose of it is nothing more than getting a lot of people together to eat pie and ice cream.  Sounds like fun, huh?  I won’t tell you that I won’t be indulging a bit that day but I’ll also be doing my best to keep it under control.  This will be a good test of what my willpower is really like!

Finally, thanks to all for the suggestions on granola.  It looks like I’ll be grabbing some Bear Naked Granola on my next trip to the store.  I’ve never tried it before but others say good things about it so I’ll give it a shot.

Enjoy your day!

4 Responses

  1. Pie Party?!?! Ive never heard of this before! I would have SUCH a hard time with that.

    I LOVED the pants on the ground guy!! lol he was so awesome.

  2. Oh yum…I love pie! That would be a DANGEROUS party for me to be attending! haha!🙂

  3. Probably not a bad idea. The seats on the spin bikes generally aren’t built for comfort. I can make it through OK without them but would much prefer a little more cushion down there.

  4. You’re killin’ it on that bike! I’m going to try a spin class. My friends says I need cushioned-butt shorts. True?

Leave a Reply

