• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Weekend Workouts


Hey everybody.  Hope you’re all enjoying your weekend!

I’m feeling a little under the weather today so I’m not sure how today’s workout is going to look.  I’ve seemed to develop a chest cold that’s causing me to cough quite a bit so I’m thinking that running or biking may be out today.  I haven’t focused as much lately on flexibility and stretching so this may be a good day to refocus on that.  I have a book that I enjoy using called “Ultimate Flexibility” by Sang Kim.  It’s a book that focuses on stretching appropriate for martial artists but really offers stretches that can benefit anybody.  Every exercise is broken down based on what muscle group is targeted and rates each stretch whether it’s low, moderate or high difficulty.  Even when I don’t feel good, I always feel like a good stretching session makes a solid alternative to a full workout.  Give it a try!

I made it a total of 500 meters in the pool yesterday in 50 meter laps.  I’m used to doing 25 meter laps for the most part so stretching it to 50 meter laps felt good.  Yesterday was when my chest cold started to settle in so I didn’t feel too solid afterwards but it was good to get back in the pool again.

I realized again that the swim will be my biggest challenge in the triathlon.  I’ve been using the Zero to 1 Mile website as my training tool of choice and I’m beginning to get the feeling that I’m going to need to get in the pool more than one day a week to fully prepare for this.  The Zero to 1 Mile site recommends three days in the pool a week to get up to a mile and I think I’m going to need to start shooting for that if I’m going to have confidence in finishing the swim portion of the tri.

That’s about it for now.  I’m going to recover and watch a little football today.  If I feel up to it, I’m going to try to do a little stretching as well as some push-ups, sit-ups, etc.  Wish me luck!

Have a great weekend!

2 Responses

  1. You may surprise yourself with the swim. In my tri I was suuuuper nervous about it and wasn’t sure about my training…but I rocked it and actually enjoyed it!!!
    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

  2. Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe! I’ll go and read some more! What do you see the future of this being?

Leave a Reply

