• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Midwest Snowstorm, Conquering the Swim And Eating At Night


Happy Friday everyone!

A few things wreaked havoc on my workout schedule yesterday.  The main thing was the snowstorm that rolled through the midwest yesterday.  I wasn’t able to get to the gym over lunch yesterday because of the extra time it took to get to and from the doctor’s office for the baby appointment (which we’re totally excited about by the way!).  Plus, I ended up cutting my karate workout a little short yesterday in order to get home and tackle the several inches of snow that were sitting on my driveway.  I did get about an hour of karate last night but moving snow was my primary exercise of the day!

So, time to refocus on getting a good workout today.  This afternoon, I’ll be hitting the pool to work on the swim.  I’ll feel fairly confident knowing that given enough time I could finish the bike and rin portions of the triathlon but I have no such confidence when it comes to the swim.  My workouts in the pool have consisted of 50 meter laps without about 30-60 seconds of rest in between for a total of about 700-800 meters per workout.  It’s a good start but there’s a lot of work to be done.

I’ve been using the 0 to 1650 website to guide my swim workouts.  Considering I’m working out with a trainer twice a week and need to train for the bike and run as well, I’m not sure I’ll be able to commit to three days a week in the pool like the site suggests but it still makes for a good guideline.  Today, I’ll be focusing on consistent 50 meter laps, shortening the rest period between laps, and then maybe next week I’ll start working up to 100 meter stretches at a time.

One last thing I wanted to touch on was the subject of eating at night.  I’ve mentioned in earlier posts that I’ve seen my weight actually go up since starting to work with a personal trainer a couple months ago.  Since then I’ve been making adjustments to my diet to see if I can find a formula that works best.  I’ve been known to eat regularly around the 8PM to 9PM area (a bowl of cereal before bed is my “drug” of choice – it’s been a habit since I was young).  I gave up eating anything after dinner for over a week and noticed positive results almost immediately.  I felt better at night, I felt trimmer around the waist, and surprisingly my snoring went away (snoring has been an on and off problem with me for a while).  Even better, I dropped a pound or two which may or may not be directly related to that but it couldn’t have hurt.

The last couple of days, I’ve eaten later at night more out of schedule conflicts than pure hunger.  I had meals around 8:30PM both Wednesday and Thursday of this week.  The result?  My weight has gone up a couple of pounds (again, may or may not be directly attributable) and my snoring came back on those two nights.

The conclusion coming from this seems obvious.  I just can’t eat after dinner any more.  The results seem to show that sabotages weight loss and sleep patterns.  I don’t think this will be a difficult change to make.  It’s just another lifestyle choice that needs to be modified.  My wife really dislikes the snoring (for some very real reasons other than just the noise which I may get into in a future update) so being able to get that under control would be a major victory for us.

Enjoy your Friday and have a great weekend!

One Response

  1. Congratulations! I like the blog. It sounds like you’re doing everything right. I found that the best thing I can do to stay motivated is to sign-up for races as soon as the open up. Once I’ve spent money I stay pretty committed. As for the pre-bed snack, I’m a big fan of chocolate chip cookies and milk. I refuse to give that up. I mean after all the reason we’re staying in shape is to better enjoy our lives right? I’ll be checking back to see how the training’s going…. misery loves company!

Leave a Reply

