• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

1 Bike + 1 Run = 2 Tired Legs


First, the good news.  I did manage to successfully get on the treadmill and run last night.  I’ve mentioned before how working out in the evening has been a challenge for me and last night was no different.  I contemplated for a few minutes whether it would be best to hit the treadmill or to sit on the couch and take it easy for the night.  Thankfully, I made the right choice and I’m glad I did.

On Tuesdays, I usually try to do a longer run (recently, it’s been between 4 and 5 miles).  Last night, I made it 1.5 miles.  Under normal circumstances, that would be a disappointing results but I’m looking at it as an accomplishment instead of a missed goal.  Here’s my logic – I rarely run at night.  My motivation and energy levels are down.  It’s why I much prefer working out midday.  I didn’t want to work out at all.  But I did.  I put on the shorts and shoes and made it happen.  And for that I’m proud.  And I feel much better about my choice today.  The next time I run, I’ll be shooting for the 4-5 mile distance but today I’m satisfied with 1.5 miles.

That brings me to today’s workout – the bike immediately followed by the run.  I want to try to do this type of workout (one triathlon event immediately followed by another) to try to get my body used to what it’s going to feel like on race day.  I tried to make it as hard and as real as it could so as to accurately mimic what it will feel like on the course.  I figure it’s the only way to stay true to myself and my goals.

I started out with 20 minutes on the spin bike.  For the record, I train for the bike portion of the race EXCLUSIVELY on a spinning bike, not a stationary bike.  Stationary bikes are fine if you just want to get a workout but if I’m training for a triathlon I want to train on something that resembles a real bicycle.  Plus, being able to easily turn up or turn down the resistance is a big plus.

Anyway, I did 20 minutes on the spin bike starting at a relatively low resistance and upping the resistance every five minutes before dropping it back down for the last five minutes.  I really like to do the bike with a reasonable amount of resistance as much as possible so it makes it that much easier on the road.  But these 20 minutes were tiring.  The quads were burning and sweat was dripping.  Then it was time for the treadmill.

I set the treadmill at 7.0MPH and went for 15 minutes.  Not a lot but enough to make it effective.  The first few minutes my quads felt like lead.  Maybe there was even a little numbness there from the bike.  But after about 6-7 minutes, I actually felt like I settled into a zone and didn’t feel too bad.  Granted, I was still looking forward to stopping but the run wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be.

So, I’d consider it a successful workout.  I followed it up with a chicken salad sandwich on 15 grain bread (my wife’s recipe – I really should see about putting it up here sometime).  Right now, I’m still a little fatigued but doing pretty good.

Tomorrow, it’s what I call “the gauntlet”.  Thursdays are the days where I work out with my trainer over lunch and then in the evening it’s two hours of karate.  A long day and a lot of calories burned.

But more importantly, tomorrow is the day when we find out if our second child is going to be a boy or a girl.  Unless he/she has a case of stage fright of course.

Have a great night!

One Response

  1. Wow you are an animal! That sounds like a fantastic workout, I need to try that… get myself out of my usual routine.

Leave a Reply

