• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

The Deer Run 10K Results


Hey everyone,

Yes, I know I’ve been absent for a while again.  A lot of stuff going on at work and a baby that’s about 5 weeks away from making her arrival will do that to you!

Anyway, on to the news of the day.  I ran the Deer Run 10K this past Saturday – my “tune up” race to the Door County Half Marathon taking place in just 5 short days.  Last year, I ran this race in 54:42 (when lack of training and knee issues torpedoed the run).  This year, my goal for the race is sub-50:00.  I’ve felt great for a while, ran well and have had no physical issues to speak of.  I’m expecting a good run.

I ran this race (and will run next weekend’s race) with my brother-in-law.  He’s in full marathon training mode and has been doing runs much longer and faster than mine so I fully expect him to finish ahead of me.

Pre-Race:  Conditions were less than ideal for this run.  As we arrived at the course, the temperature was about 45* with a slight wind and overcast conditions.  It had rained most of the night before so everything was wet.  I was wearing a long sleeve shirt and shorts and that was about it so I was cold the minute I got out of the car.  I knew I’d be fine once I started running but that wasn’t helping me now.  I’m jumping, stretching, hitting the bathroom one last time, getting ready to run.  We move to the start line and after about a five minute delay, we’re off!

1st Mile:  I felt really good right from the start.  That’s a little unusual for me as it typically takes me a half mile to a mile to get into the groove.  Not today though.  By the way, my brother-in-law passes me at about the 1/4 mile mark.  It’s the last time we’ll be even.  The course was wide open so space is not an issue.  I figure to hit a sub-50:00 time, I need to average about an 8:00 mile overall so I’m hoping to come in a little under that in the first mile.  I can tell I’m moving fast – faster than I usually start out – but I’m feeling good so I’m just going with it.  Mile 1 = 7:40.

2nd Mile:  I’m a full 20 seconds under 8:00 pace for the first mile and I’m starting to worry that I’m burning too fast.  I want to save energy for the 2nd half of the run but still keep it under an 8:00 mile if possible.  I decide to back the pace off a little.  Or so I thought.  Mile 2 = 7:38.

3rd Mile:  OK, I thought I was going to slow down, not go faster!  I guess when the body wants to go, it wants to go.  I’m in a nice little groove and feeling pretty good but I know there’s a slight uphill coming up and that I’ll slow down slightly as I take on some water just before the halfway point.  Along this mile, I run over a manhole cover that has standing water on it and my foot slides a solid 3-4 inches across it.  Won’t make that mistake again!  Mile 3 = 7:57.

4th Mile:  This is the first point where I’m feeling that a sub-50:00 time has a better than 50% chance of happening.  I’m a total of about 45 seconds under 8:00 pace but I think I’m starting to feel the effects of starting as fast as I did.  It’s starting to drizzle a little.  Somewhat refreshing.  Slightly annoying.  Looks like the sky could open up just about any time.  I pass the in-laws and family (who are doing the 5K walk) and get a little cheer.  Ready to go a little faster now.  Mile 4 = 7:45.

5th Mile:  You know, I think there’s a darn good chance that sub-50:00 is going to happen!  I just need to maintain a steady pace and I should be good!  You have no idea how excited I am by this.  I make an impromptu goal on the course that I want to finish every mile of the 10K under 8:00.  4 for 4 so far.  Mile 5 = 7:51.

6th Mile:  A sub-50:00 time is virtually in the bag now.  Just need to bring it home.  It hits me at this point that not only should I be finishing under 50:00 but I may be able to finish well under 50:00.  Never thought I’d be worrying about that today!  The 10K run and 5K walk courses converge and there’s suddenly a lot more traffic.  I see marshalls on bikes out on the course trying to shuffle walkers to the side but it doesn’t seem to be doing much good.  Mile 6 = 8:01.

Finish:  DAMN IT!  One f***ing second!  I just missed 6 sub-8:00 miles by one second!  I blame the walkers!  And the marshalls!  And Barack Obama!  One final turn and I hit the finish line in perfect stride.

Final time = 48:23.  A 7:48 mile pace.

This was a better time than I would’ve expected in most of my best case scenarios.  Totally excited right now!  Outside of some stiffness in my calves, my body feels great and I was able to take almost 6 1/2 minutes off of last year’s time.  I’m psyched for the half marathon this coming weekend.  We’re totally ready for it.

Incidentally, my brother-in-law finished in 46:36.  He knocked a full 10 minutes off of last year’s time.  Nice job!

5 days until the half marathon.  The goal is sub-2:00:00.  I’m coming in under that.  Easily.

One Response

  1. You are totally going to rock that half marathon!!! EASILY sub 2:00…no questions!!! haha! YAY!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

