• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Why Did I Think This Was A Good Idea?


Running intervals, that is.  I hear about the wonderful benefits of running intervals and what they can do to improve your speed.  This is officially my third attempt with interval running and while each run has been better than the previous one all I can say is “damn these suck!”

My trainer during one of our final sessions put the following interval program together for me.  Keep in mind that my normal tempo for a 3-5 mile run is about an 8 minute mile (or 7.5MPH as I prefer to state it)….

  • 5 minutes – 7.0MPH (warm up)
  • 2 minutes – 7.5MPH
  • 2 minutes – 8.3MPH
  • 2 minutes – 7.5MPH
  • 3 minutes – 8.3MPH
  • 2 minutes – 7.5MPH
  • 4 minutes – 8.3MPH
  • 2 minutes – 7.5MPH
  • 4 minutes – 8.3MPH
  • 2 minutes – 7.5MPH
  • 3 minutes – 8.3MPH
  • 2 minutes – 7.5MPH
  • 2 minutes – 8.3MPH
  • 5 minutes – 7.0MPH (cool down)

All told, it’s 5.16 miles in a total of 40 minutes even.  The first half of the run seemed relatively manageable but, boy, that second half required some gutting it out.  According to some of the calculators out there, this was the best total run I’ve done yet.

This was one of those runs that I felt absolutely spent at the end of it but still felt really good.  I’ve been maxing out my runs lately at about an 8 minute mile pace but this type of run makes me realize that I’m ready to push forward towards a 7 minute mile pace even if it’s for a relatively short time.  Perhaps the most amazing thing for me about this run is how the 5 minute cool down at the end at an 8:30 pace felt like a light jog.  I seriously felt like I could have gone at that pace all day.  I suppose that’s kind of the point of an interval run.

So, all in all, this was definitely a successful run.  The Deer Run 10K is just 10 days away and the Door County Half Marathon is a week after that.  The goals for those runs are now clear.  I’m aiming for a sub-50:00 time in the 10K (a 8:00 mile pace) and a sub-2:00:00 time in the half marathon (a 9:00 mile pace).  Still some work to be done but both goals are clearly within reach.

4 Responses

  1. Intervals. Love em, hate em. They totally do make a difference in speeding you up. Hope you have two great races!

  2. ROCK IT!!! You are awesome my friend! Running intervals hurt but in that “I am a bad-ass” kind of way! haha!

  3. Nice job on the intervals! Oofda! I am tired just looking at your speedy intervals!

  4. oh intervals. i love them when i’m done and feeling hardcore haha. way to push through discomfort

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

