• 2010 Race Calendar

    01.17 - Samson Stomp 5K
    04.24 - Deer Run 10K
    05.01 - Door County Half Marathon
    07.11 - Pewaukee Triathlon
    08.01 - Bradford Beach Tri
    09.11 - TosaFest 5K

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other followers

  • Pages

  • Archives

Getting Close To The Half Marathon


Hey everyone,

Wanted to stop back by here for a short time to update you on the latest.  Namely, the 10 mile run I managed to bust out yesterday in preparation for the half marathon in about three short weeks.

I set a goal of trying to finish the 10 mile run yesterday in a time of 1:30:00.  I figured that would get me fairly close to the goal of finishing the half marathon in 2 hours.  So what time did I manage to finish in?  1:30:07.  Seven f***ing seconds!

My words of advice?  Don’t eat an Oriental Crispy Chicken bowl from Applebee’s before you run.  And try not to burn up your energy in a water park beforehand either (we were there with our daughter and her cousins that morning).  And don’t push it on a new bike the day before either.  You guys probably figured all that out already though.

I got about a half mile into the run and realized I didn’t put my knee brace on.  I’m already worried a few thousand feet into the run.  I maintained about a 7.2MPH pace for the first four miles or so.  Not bad.  Pacing myself well I think.  Then I hit the hill.  Made it halfway up and walked the rest of the way (it’s a steep hill).  I think this may probably be the way I do it during the race in three weeks.  You sacrifice some time doing it that way but no sense in burning a lot of energy trying to force your way up the hill.

Once I conquered the hill, I did the next mile in 7.1MPH.  Pretty happy about that.  Felt pretty good too.  Did the next mile with a slight uphill in 6.3MPH.  Starting to slow down.

Then I hit the up and down of the hill again on my way back.  Slowed down to a 6.0MPH pace.  I hit the 9 mile mark at about 1:22:00.  Now, it feels like it’s going to be a struggle to finish.  I was able to push the last mile up to a 7.4MPH pace (my fastest mile of all 10) but just missed the 1:30:00 mark.

The race calculator says this run puts me right at a 2 hour pace.  I’ve got to say that if I hit the 10 mile mark in Door County in 1:30:00 and have to finish the last 5K in 30 minutes, I have to feel pretty good about that.  I did this run without any supplements, not fueling properly at the start and generally not feeling 100% at the start and still managed to finish in a pretty good time.  I think things will be even better in Door County.

I’m taking today off.  Knees and calves are still a little sore but not too bad.  A good rest day will help.

7 Responses

  1. SWEET!!!! You are going to rock it! :)

  2. Nice nice nice!! Sounds like a great run, and just think how great you will do when you “follow the rules”
    I did my first 10 mile run in 1:46 this weekend and I am optimistic about my 1/2 marathon time being much less than my original goal of 2:30. Yipppeee!
    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

    • Awesome! Sounds like you’re making great strides in both distance and time!

      I finished my first half in just short of 2:14. Looking back, I realized how unprepared and improperly fueled I was. I did no speed work and I did almost no practice on hills. I’ve addressed each of those this time around and feel much better prepared and just feel better in general this time.

      I’m really excited to make it a great run. This race is about personal redemption!

  3. Sounds like your training is going well! Smart idea on taking a rest day!

  4. those 7 seconds totally would have pissed me off too. but great run even with those pesky seconds!

  5. David – nice post. Interested to know why you assess pace in terms of mph. Always looking to learn about other methods of getting better.

    I’ve read about the run/walk method and you are spot on. In terms of energy/running economy, you certain don’t expel as much effort and have some reserves when you need them.

    Very smart to listen to your body and take the rest day.

    • I think it’s a habit more than anything. When I started training for the half marathon last year, I started on the treadmill (January. Wisconsin. Need I say more?). The pace on my treadmill was shown in MPH and since then I’ve always measured things in MPH to try to get an apples to apples comparison. It’s just a personal choice more than anything. My brother-in-law asked me the exact same question. I must be in the minority!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

